Uncategorized

New Year, New Me?

Wow. My first post on this blog! It’s not my first ever blog post, though. I had a blog previous to this that I just wasn’t happy with (and if you’re one of the few readers from that one that followed me over to this one, thank you very much and welcome back!).

Very much going to the theme of New Year this month and seeing as it is seen as a fresh start, I thought I would just hop on the band wagon and give you my lil’ two cents here.

I think New Years’ Resolutions are a fantastic, wonderful thing. Why? Because they give people a brief push into the right direction of motivation and hope. I would never look down at something that could give people the opportunity to better themselves. There’s the usual things like “Get a Gym Membership” or “Wake Up Earlier”, little things that can help give you a lift into a better life.

Saying that, I feel like people can give up too quickly. Once a resolution has failed once, or even twice, people tend to pack it in and say to themselves “Oh well, better luck next year!”. You don’t need to wait a few months to turn things around for the better. You do not need to wait until Monday, or even tomorrow morning. You just need a few seconds to redeem yourself and hop straight back up.

“The one who falls and gets up is much stronger than the one who never fell”

With mental illnesses, a busy schedule, a negative attitude – this can be challenging, or even sometimes it seems completely impossible! It doesn’t have to be something huge. Even something like drinking one more glass of water a day when you previously didn’t drink it at all. You can make mountains out of molehills (and not in the bad way, either).

So, even though on my previous blog I made a list of resolutions that posted on the first of January 2017, I doubt I’ll be sticking to them. In fact, so far, I haven’t. I’m probably going to adapt and change them all year as I see fit but you know what? It doesn’t matter, because doing something is better than not doing anything at all.

Just keep bettering yourself, don’t worry about what other people are doing and certainly don’t compare yourself to others, just compare yourself to who you were yesterday and make sure you’re even better. You can do it. I believe in you.

Lorna xx

1 thought on “New Year, New Me?”

Leave a Reply

