Books

I Dare You Book Tag!

I was not tagged by anyone to do this, I just really wanted to do this because it looked like a lot of fun and I really wanted to write something today but I couldn’t think of anything. Here I am! The first book tag of the blog (I’m pretty sure).

RULES:
You must be honest
You must answer all the questions
You must tag at least 4 people

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

Hmm. I’m really not sure. I’ve moved at least five times in my twenty years of life so I’ve lost a lot of the books I’ve had. My Disney short-story bedtime books are probably the oldest but a proper book is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone which is a first edition hardback that my dad gave to me a very long time ago.

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

My current read is Stephen King’s Pet Sematary which is about this family who move into a house that has a pet cemetery in their backyard (literally) and it starts to haunt them. It’s an introduction to what happens when death is over. How children deal with death when they’re faced with it, what people react to when they’re face to face with death, and it’s quite scary. My last read was The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas, about an autistic teenage girl who gains a crush on a guy and how she deals with being autistic and a teenager. It’s a lovely short little novel everyone should read. Hopefully, if my Amazon order gets here soon, then I’ll be reading The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas next.

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

Name any non-diverse YA novel and you’ll have a good guess but probably Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I love love love the writing style. I read it so fast because of that. It was so good. The actual story, though? I’m not a fan of women being sexualised, love triangles, endless YA tropes…it’s like a guilty pleasure novel. I didn’t hate it though. Maybe any book written by Cassandra Claire would have been a better choice.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

So. Many. A book I own? I’m not sure, probably the classics that I have like Jane Eyre because I just can’t see myself getting through a book like that. A book that I don’t own? I can’t think of anything from the top of my end but again it’ll probably be a classic. I’m not good with the language that they use, I have a hard enough time understanding my own language

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

My own. I hope I’m still writing then. I’d love to compare them with each other.

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

I only skip to the end to see how many pages left of the book there are in it. The only time I read the last page is when I really don’t like a book and don’t want to read it but I’m curious to how the book ended

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

I think they’re really interesting. I love seeing just how many people were involved in the process of creating a book, aside from the writer themselves. It’s like a look in to behind the scenes and the important people who went into writing the book. I tend not to read them if I didn’t like the book though

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

I haven’t read a book recently that you’d really want to swap places with. I tend to read darker/creepier stories, or contemporary when I need a break. I rarely reach for fantasy, as well. Maybe a character from a steampunk world like Cogheart or something with an animal from your soul, like The Golden Compass

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)

A majority of the books I read do. Part of the reason why I find it so hard to give books up is because of the memories that are held within them. Even the Cassandra Claire novels have memories attached to them. I was in 6th form in school. They were taking a while to put me into class, so I spent my days doing nothing for a while and made the time pass by reading her books.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

Most of my Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy books were stolen from school libraries. I went home with them and just never gave them back. I also have a Mr.Gum book where the author came in to sign copies and I didn’t have money with me but they gave me a book anyway. I was meant to give the money in on a later date but it never happened. I was a bad child.

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

No, I have never known anyone in my personal life who also reads books. 

12. Which book has been with you most places?

I forgot who the author is, but the book is called Pax. I went to Cornwall with that book, as well as a Patrick Ness book that I forgot the name of but it’s about the afterlife. I never really carry my books with me for more than a day. I don’t want them to get damaged.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I don’t think so. The books I didn’t like I just never read again and the books I liked, I still like now

14. Used or brand new?

I enjoy books that are brand new but I prefer used books. On Amazon, I tend to pick that option even if it’s only 5p cheaper. There’s something wonderful about holding a book that might have been preloved or prehated but it’s been read by others, it’s been enjoyed, it has a history. I think there’s something special in that.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

No, which is funny because I own three

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

No, although I thought that Room by Emma…something was translated really well in the movie. It was just as good as the book. There probably is a lot of movies I like better than the book, I just can’t think of them right now.

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

Yes! I like to flick through cookbooks because I enjoy cooking but sometimes a character in a book will say “I’m going to order Chinese food” and it always, always makes me want to get some Chinese food

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

My autistic Twitter mutuals, I think, because they have good tastes

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

I’m very much a creature of habit and rarely step out of my comfort zones, which I know is bad. I tend to just stick to horror novels and some darker contemporaries/middle grade. However, I have enjoyed some fantasy novels here and there. I enjoy the idea of science fiction as well and they tend to be one of my favourite movie genres but no sci fi book has, so far, interested me.

I don’t have four people to tag today so, if you want to do this book tag, consider yourself tagged! (just please tag me or link it in the comments so I can read them because I’m genuinely interested in what your answers would be, or you can just answer them in the comments if you’d rather do that, I’m okay with whatever!)

Lorna

3 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag!”

  1. I really enjoyed this post! I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

