Books

Forever Friday’s #2

forever-friday

Forever Friday’s is a weekly meme created by Weezie over on their blog where we talk about a book that we will (probably) forever love.

My Sister Jodie
by Jacqueline Wilson

jodie

Jacqueline Wilson was one of the first authors I found as a kid. Before this time period, I could read (and read well) but I never “fluently” read. I’d read a book once every few months. Along with Jacqueline Wilson was Cathy Cassidy and Michael Murpurgo but Jacqueline Wilson was my favourite because she wrote about issues close to my heart. The closest isn’t this book, it’s probably a book called A Clean Break but this book is just my favourite of hers.

My Sister Jodie is about two sisters. One of them is the big sister, Jodie, who is a bit of a rule-breaker. She always wants to get on everyone else’s nerves and proudly be the centre of attention. Pearl, the main character, is the opposite. She’s shy, quiet, and sticks to the rules. One day, their parents get a job at a boarding school allowing Pearl and Jodie to have free accommodation and schooling at the boarding school. While they’re there, Jodie is no longer at the centre of attention, Pearl is.

I guess one of the main reasons this book stuck with me is because my sister and I experienced a relationship not that different from Pearl and Jodie’s. I am the big sister here, but I’m shy and quiet and follow the rules. My sister, however, has always naturally been loud and funny and naturally attracts attention. Neither of us were ever jealous of the other. We had a good friendship growing up and still do (although we’re not that close, we don’t talk everyday or anything, but neither of us are talkative types – even if she is loud!). Like Pearl and Jodie, we also drifted apart due to secondary school and changes that were going on in our lives.

The ending was also tackling quite a dark subject. Not to spoil the book, I’ll leave it here, but it’s not a topic children’s books ever touch on very frequently. I wish a second book was created to touch on the topic more, but this is something Wilson writes about more in other novels anyway. Wilson has always written about fairly dark, but real life, troubles children go through and I found them helpful growing up (although a few are problematic, such as Love Lessons, about a budding romance between a teenage girl and her middle aged art teacher, I feel like this is sending the wrong message to students and it’s also…y’know, illegal in this country. It breaks more than one law). Despite that, they were still books I loved as a child and will probably always stay with me. I own a few of them. Wilson’s books are almost definitely going to pop up again.

That’s all for this post. I feel like I forgot to do this last week, I can’t remember, oops! I really enjoy doing these though, even though I keep forgetting what books are my favourite (ironic).

Lorna

Leave a Reply

