Books, Movies

Tag Tuesdays || Beauty and the Beast ’91

tag tuesday

Hi! Tag Tuesdays are a weekly meme where I find a tag or make one up on my own and answer the questions. This week, I decided to make my own based on my favourite movie of all time – the 1991 Disney animated version of Beauty and the Beast. I’ve seen one around for the 2017 version and, although I’m sure a 1991 version exists somewhere, I’d rather do something new and just make it up because why the hell not! If you want to do this tag, then go ahead (but please credit me because making tags is a lot harder – for me, at least – than you might think). Please be gentle on me, it’s my first attempt at creation of a book tag.

beast on glass

1. At the start of the movie, the Beast (Adam) was portrayed as a selfish and vain young man. Which character do you think was as selfish and vain as the Beast?

Honestly, this character description fits quite a lot of non-diverse book characters in young adult literature so…I guess I have plenty to choose from. I’m currently reading The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, though, and although this book is obviously diverse and #OwnVoices, Chris (Starr’s boyfriend) is a character I find to be very selfish and vain. He doesn’t seem to care about Starr and just appears to like her because she falls into the category of what his “type” is. Eck.

belle and maurice

2. Belle and Belle’s father, Maurice, share a strong bond in the movie. Belle even let herself be captured in the castle to rescue him. What is your favourite parent/child relationship?

It would be really easy to fall back on Starr and her dad but, because that book has already been spoken once, I guess I’ll pick something else. It’s a tough one. I really like the father-son relationship in The Road by Cormac McCarthy, a book I once read for English Lit back when I was still in school. The whole novel focuses around their relationship just walking along a road, coming across some rather disturbing events along the way. They both stabilize each other in a way and act as each others’ support systems and I just really like that. The kindness shown through the son was also such a contrast to the not so kind father, probably hardened with age.

Crazy_Old_Maurice-e1429842088370

3. Maurice is a known inventor where his capabilities were consistently underestimated throughout the movie (except by Belle). Name a character who had what you considered to be great capabilities that were under-appreciated or not recognized. 

I recently read a book called Alien Rain by Ruth Morgan (if the review isn’t up by the time this is published, it’ll be the next post after this one) where the main character (Bree) was called “s*upid” throughout the whole novel, both by herself, her peers and authorities. Bree was, in fact, amazing at poetry writing and seeing what the others just couldn’t see. She had high levels of empathy skills and connected to the world/s in a way no-one around her could and I find this admirable.

be our gyest

4. In Be Our Guest, Lumiere shows Belle an amazing range of foods. Name a novel that made you hungry. 

Sweet Temptation by Lucy Diamond, as contemporary romances used to be my guilty pleasure and were my break from reading other, heavier stuff. Do not read this book if weight and weight loss and food can trigger you as that is a major theme in this novel. It spoke about loads and loads of sweet treats and although I don’t have a particularly strong sweet tooth I was drooling throughout the entire thing.

beauty and the beast

5. When Belle is getting attacked by hungry wolves during her escape from the castle, the Beast comes to rescue her. Name a book where the “damsel in distress” trope is used in it. 

Alice in Zombieland by whoever. I was so excited for this book and when I saw them really cheap I bought the entire series but I couldn’t even finish the first one. There was far too many problems in it that I won’t bring up now but one of them was the damsel in distress trope which was used more than once before we were even halfway through the thing. Complete eye roll.

ballroom dance

6. The Beast changes after Belle tends to the Beasts wounds, eats dinner with him and they share a romantic ballroom dance. Name a character who changes, for better or for worse, after falling in love. 

I don’t read many romance novels so this is a tough one. I don’t know why I’m making a tag based on a romantic movie when I don’t read romance novels and yet here we are. I’m going to go with Peter from Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie. I finished this book in November last year and, although not a great fan of the writing style so it was a bit tough to get through, I felt like Peter really went through some strong character from meeting Wendy to falling in love with her. Mostly becoming a kinder person as, lets face it, he was a bit of a jizz pigeon at the start. And…for a lot of it, actually. But I still love Peter Pan!

friends

7. The movie ends with Lumiere and Cogsworth entering a feud. Name two characters who are friendly but are also at war with each other consistently. 

I’m going to go with Ron and Hermione from the Harry Potter series by J.K.Rowling. I was going to go with Coraline and WyBourne from Coraline by Neil Gailman but Wybe (which is how I assume his shortened name is spelt) isn’t from the book and was only added in the movie. Bummer. But, yes, Ron and Hermione are constantly arguing in every single book about something but also seem to be inseparable at the same time.

So there you go. It’s not the best for a first tag, I wanted to keep it nice and short, feel free to add on your own questions. Again, please tag me if you want to do this tag, it wasn’t easy for me! Thank you very much in advance. (but if you think this tag is shit, feel free to tell me, but in a more polite way than “this is shit” lol)

The Questions:

1. At the start of the movie, the Beast (Adam) was portrayed as a selfish and vain young man. Which character do you think was as selfish and vain as the Beast?

2. Belle and Belle’s father, Maurice, share a strong bond in the movie. Belle even let herself be captured in the castle to rescue him. What is your favourite parent/child relationship?

3. Maurice is a known inventor where his capabilities were consistently underestimated throughout the movie (except by Belle). Name a character who had what you considered to be great capabilities that were under-appreciated or not recognized. 

4. In Be Our Guest, Lumiere shows Belle an amazing range of foods. Name a novel that made you hungry. 

5. When Belle is getting attacked by hungry wolves during her escape from the castle, the Beast comes to rescue her. Name a book where the “damsel in distress” trope is used in it. 

6. The Beast changes after Belle tends to the Beasts wounds, eats dinner with him and they share a romantic ballroom dance. Name a character who changes, for better or for worse, after falling in love. 

7. The movie ends with Lumiere and Cogsworth entering a feud. Name two characters who are friendly but are also at war with each other consistently. 

Leave a Reply

