Books

Some New Books

books

Hey! So, not all of these books were bought my me, some of these were given to me. I’ll make sure to specify when a book was given to me. I don’t really do monthly book hauls because…I don’t know, I guess I just never buy a lot of books all at once. I just buy one book here, another book there. I used to buy whole loads of them all at once but then I found interest in other things and spent my money more on those as well and then I didn’t have as much money to spend on books, etc. But, I still like to talk about books at any given chance so here you have it, some new books I’ve acquired over the past couple of months!

The Little Prince 
by Antoine De Saint-Exupery
Translated by Irene Testot-Ferry

the little prince

“The Little Prince” is a classic tale of equal appeal to children and adults. On one level it is the story of an airman’s discovery in the desert of a small boy from another planet – the Little Prince of the title – and his stores of intergalactic travel, while on the other hand it is a thought provoking allegory of the human condition. 

I saw these editions (including the next two books I’m going to talk about) in a bookstore after a hospital appointment and thought they were so stunning. I’ve always been awed by simplistic covers and illustrations. I like how the colour of the book is the colour of old, used book pages. It brought so much joy to my heart. You can find these editions at The Works for £1.99 each or three for £5. I don’t have these in my local store, so there’s a chance they might be available online.

This book is extremely short at only 109 pages. I admit to seeing the movie on Netflix before even knowing this was a book but, had I have known it was a book, I’d have at least tried to find a nice copy of the book and read it beforehand. The movie was stunningly amazing and quickly bumped it’s way up into one of my favourites. It was as good as my beloved Pixar movies. It showed how intelligence and academics are valued about kindness and creativity, even straining the relationships between loved ones. This book is something I know I’m going to read in one sitting and I want to find a really good time to get into this. Maybe find a nice seat in a park or something. I’ll definitely be writing a book talk on this.

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz & Glinda and Oz
by L.Frank.Baum

the wonderful wizard of oz

In “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz”, a huge cyclone transports the orphan Dorothy and her little dog Toto from Kansas to the Land of Oz, and she fears that she will never see Aunt Em and Uncle Henry ever again. But she meets the Munchkins, and they tell her to follow the Yellow Brick Road to the Emerald City where the Wonderful Wizard of Oz will grant any wish. On the way, she meets the brainless scarecrow, the Tin Woodman and the Cowardly Lion. The four friends set off to seek their heart’s desires, and in a series of action-packed adventures they encounter a deadly poppy field, fierce animals, flying monkeys, a wicked witch, a good witch and the Mighty Oz himself.
In “Glinda of Oz”, the last of the original “Oz” books, Dorothy and Princess Ozma seek the help of Glinda, the Good Witch of the South, when they find themselves in peril on the Magic Isle of the Skeezers 

This was definitely a last minute purchase because, although I was positive I wanted the first book I mentioned and the third book I am about to mention, I was so at a loss for what I wanted my third book to be. They had The Jungle Book and a Grimm’s fairy tale short (Little Red Riding Hood) but I ended up picking this one up because I’ve been wanting to read the books for a while and, although I know the story really well (as does everyone by this point I imagine), I’ve never actually seen the movie (any of them) so it’s a good opportunity to get into the book before I see the film. I prefer reading the book before the movie as you might have guessed by now. I’m sure I’ll love it, it’s always sounded interesting, I just never got around to watching it. I’m too much of a Disney fangirl to branch out much I suppose. This edition is 301 pages long.

Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass
Lewis Carroll

alice in wonderland

This edition is 260 pages long. It doesn’t really have much of a description at the back of the book, just a bit of commentary on what the book means to people, and this much is true. This book speaks to me and my journey not just with autism but with other major life events as well. I own two other copies of this book. One is rather large with not very many pages, intended to be read to children I imagine although the words are quite small. Another edition is one that is very pretty, a hardback with pink pages, but almost completely unreadable as I’d have to be at home to read it and be very careful of the spine. Although I would like to collect editions of Alice in Wonderland books, despite not being my absolute favourite, I did mostly pick this one up so I could read it out and about and comfortably. I’ve never read both books all the way through before because of that reason so now here’s a great chance.

The Vegetarian
by Han Kang

the vegetarian

Yeong-Hye and her husband are ordinary people. He is an office worker with moderate ambitions and mild manners, she is an uninspired but dutiful wife.  The acceptable flatline of their marriage is interrupted when Yeong-Hye, seeing a more “plant-like” existence, commits a shocking act of subversion. As her rebellion manifests in even more bizarre and frightening forms, Yeong-Hye spirals more and more into her fantasies of abandoning her fleshy prison and becoming – impossibly, ecstatically – a tree. A beautiful, unsettling novel told in three acts, about rebellion and taboo, violence and eroticism, and the twisting metamorphosis of a soul.

 This book was very kindly sent to me by my Twitter friend when I spoke on a thread about weird books I’ve read and I mentioned this short novel. It is barely over 180 pages and it’s magnificent how this book has never left my head since I last read it and it made such a lasting impression in just a few short words. This book is massively triggering for those who have been through abuse/eating disorders or are going through that, though, so if you find either of those triggering I would avoid this book but otherwise it’s truly amazing. I don’t want to say too much about it without giving away too much of the story but there’s something about it that I find so unique.

The Hate U Give
Angie Thomas

thug

“what’s the point of having a voice if you’re gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn’t be?”
Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed. 

I think it goes without saying, really, as to why I ordered this and why I want this book. This book was written as a ‘supporting novel’ to the Black Lives Matter movement and I’ve heard not one negative thing said about this or the lovely woman who wrote this once so far. I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews of how five stars just isn’t enough, and how police brutality continues to be a massive issue in America.

I’m currently 255 pages in to it and it’s emotionally quite a struggle to read but it’s already proving to be a very important book. So important I think it should start being required reading in schools.

History is All You Left Me
By Adam Silvera

history is all you left me

Griffin has lost his first love in a drowning accident. Theo was his best friend, his ex-boyfriend and the one he believed he would end up with. Now, reeling from grief and worsening OCD, Griffin turns to an unexpected person for help. Theo’s new boyfriend. But, as their relationship becomes increasingly complicated, dangerous truths begin to surface. Griffin must make a choice: confront the pass, or miss out on his future. 

Again, I’ve seen this everywhere. I bought it before I knew it was pride month in June so I think that’s a nice coincidence. It sounds like something that’s going to make me weep just as much as THUG is. I might save this, read something more happy and light-hearted inbetween, it may be quite a struggle. It’s almost 300 pages, and I’m kinda of excited for it but also kind of dreading the emotions I’m going to get by reading this.

Beauty and the Beast
By Gabrielle-Suzanna Barbot de Villenueve

beauty and the beast book

I believe this was written as a companion novel to the new 2017 movie featuring Emma Watson and after hearing it as pop ups I ordered it without question! It does have quite a few pop ups and I’m such a sucker for those. I don’t even want to read this in case I damage because it is just so beautiful! I remember posting it on my Snapchat (@lozthekittycat, shameless plug and yes I’m upset I can’t change my Snapchat name) but I never posted photos of how beautiful it is anywhere else, I’ll have to everywhere soon, it’s so pretty!

Thank you very much for reading! Hope you like my taste in books and, until next time, bye!

Lorna

Leave a Reply

