Books, Reviews

May Reading Wrap-Up ’17

Hey!

I’m not sure if I did once of these last month, I can’t really do these every month because I’m an incredibly slow reader, but this month I did surprisingly well. Even finished a book, started a new one and finished that and then started a third book in the same day. A new track record for me! I hope these reading marathon continues.

The State of Grace
By Rachael Lucas

9781509839551the state of grace_jpg_264_400

I received this book free in a competition (yay). It’s about a teenage girl called Grace, who is autistic, struggling with life as she has a new crush and everything else seems to fall apart. It was sweet and cute and lovely. I’m not going to say too much on it because I wrote a whole review on this on my blog, which you can read here. 4/5

Pet Sematary
By Stephen King

stephen king

I read in a blog someone who had recently read this and said it was wonderful. I already owned a copy of this so I thought “why not?”, I’ve wanted to read it a long time. Well, it was absolutely terrifying. Something about mixing innocence with something so completely not innocent really shook me to my core but I would recommend this. If you can handle it, I barely could I will be honest. 4/5

Two Boys Kissing
By David Leviathan

two boys kissing

This is the book I read in a day! It focuses on a lot of m/m relationships from different perspectives and I won’t talk about this one too much either as I also have a review of it which you can read here. 4/5

Alien Rain
By Ruth Morgan

alien rain

This is also a book that I have written a review on which isn’t published yet but it’ll be up this week, next week at the latest. It’s about a girl called Bree who was selected on a mission to go to Earth but she didn’t fit the usual criteria for being selected to go to Earth, and she’s on another mission to find out why. It had quite a plot twist in the middle! I liked the characters and the story, although I found there to be a lack of world building which really bothered me. 3/5

The Hate U Give
By Angie Thomas

the hate u give

I finished this book today! But I thought I would include it anyway has most of this book was read in May. I haven’t written a review on it yet but I plan on doing it really soon, this deserves even more praise than it already has. It was written as a “supporting novel” in a way to the Black Lives Matter movement and police brutality. Some have said that this book promotes hatred of the police but I personally didn’t see that connection at all. 5/5.

 

That’s it for, what I think, is a great reading month of May! Hopefully this continues throughout the month of June I usually only manage a couple of books per month, which still isn’t bad but it’s not as good as this. Hope you had a good reading month, too!

Lorna

2 thoughts on “May Reading Wrap-Up ’17”

Leave a Reply

