Books, Reviews

Tag Tuesday || The Ultimate Book Lovers Tag

tag tuesday

Hello and welcome to my…third Tag Tuesday? So far, I’m really enjoying doing these, I have a bunch prepared in advance. This was created by Sam at Sam’s Nonsense and, as most of my tags usually are, it’s more on books.

1. Your Top 3 Favourite Books

Gosh, they jumped into the deep end with this one! I can’t really say that I have favourites but I tried to pick three anyway and I’m going to go with Charlotte’s Web by E.B White because I also used to live on a farm that unfortunately didn’t have pigs and I think this book is what triggered me into becoming a vegetarian and sympathizing with spiders. I also love animals. The Spiderwick Chronicles by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black as I love love love the atmosphere in this book and the world and the characters and the writing, it was amazing. Matilda by Roald Dahl as my third one as I just really loved Matilda and I’m obviously not as smart as her, but I identified with her a lot. I only own two out of three for these, I should get Charlotte’s Web at some point, I lost my original copy.

2. Your Top 3 Least Favourite Books

A lot easier a question, really, as I dislike a lot less books. The first one is for sure The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Everytime someone says they want a book with “autism rep”, they go “omg have you heard of this one”. Yes, but have you heard autistic people speak about how the autistic rep in that book is problematic and it’s not OwnVoices? The autistic MC was also written like a child and not a teenager. It was not an awful book but I can’t get past the harmful rep, being autistic myself. The second one I’ve hated for a long time, too, and it’s It’s Kind of a Funny Story and I appreciate this was OwnVoices and the writer was marginalized but I could not get past how every single woman in this book was sexualised and written badly. Every. Single. Which is a massive shame, because I thought everything else about the book was pretty good. I really liked the “mind maps” and how there was a positive ending, etc. One.  Also, any book written by John Steinbeck. Just…all of them.

3. A Popular Author You Love 

Hmm. I’m not sure, as I generally don’t read a lot from the same author, I’m not very loyal like that. I think Frances Hardinge is very popular and I’ve only read two books by her, Cuckoo Song and The Lie Tree, but I loved both of them and whenever I’m in a reading slump I just go to her books as they’re sure to pull me out of it. They’re creepy, dark, unusual and feminism! Historical fiction with absolutely no romance and a kickass female character, love it.

4. A Popular Author You Don’t Love 

I’d have to go with Cassandra Claire as I read the first three of the Mortal Instruments series and I didn’t hate it, I actually quite liked it, but then the second three I thought were terrible and it should have ended at the first three. The first three were good enough. I then tried to read the Clockwork series, I think it’s called, and found Tessa to be such an annoying main character that I just couldn’t do it. After finding out how problematic an author CC is too I just…can’t with her anymore. She only wrote three okay books that I’ll probably never read again.

5. An Underrated Book You Think Everyone Should Read

The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas which deserves way more recognition then it’s having. It’s about an autistic teenager (female, and OwnVoices) who got a cute little crush on a boy but is struggling with the changes going on around her. It had some small flaws but, ultimately, I thought it was great. My full review can be read here.

9781509839551the state of grace_jpg_264_400

6. A Series You Won’t Finish. 

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Claire, the Gone series by Michael Grant, the House of Night series by P.C.Cast, Game of Thrones by whatever his name is, I’m pretty bad at finishing series so there’s always a lot of them (even if they’re a good series).

7. Earliest Bookish Memory. 

I remember in primary school, my teachers (none of which I got along with, this was before I was diagnosed with autism) read a book to us in class called The Butterfly Lion by Michael Murpurgo which I fell in love with. I gathered all of his books in the library and brought them to the teacher and he kindly said “thank you” although it was pretty silly…feel free to laugh at me lol. That was the start of my love for Micheal Murpurgo.

8. Your Favourite Bookish Memory

Reading books in the swinging chair in my garden, that was there before we even moved in two or three years ago. It was just really peaceful at times, even though our next door neighbours has a dog and four children under ten so it got really noisy as well. The atmosphere was just pleasant. I’m not massively fond of beaches but this year I’m going to make more of an effort to read on beaches, as I’m starting to like them.

9. Your Favourite Genre to Read

I like fantasy but I’ve never read one that I…liked, really, as they’re sexist or racist or something. If I can find one that isn’t any of these things and doesn’t have sex in it then I think that would be great. I like children’s, too, if that even counts as a genre. Spooky children’s.

10. Your Least Favourite Genre

Romance. Western. Anything medieval.

11. One Difficult or Important Book You’re Proud to Have Read

Does The Hate U Give count? Because that one

thug

 

Thank you for checking in again for another tag Tuesday! I really enjoy writing these and I hope you enjoy reading them. Until next time.

Lorna

3 thoughts on “Tag Tuesday || The Ultimate Book Lovers Tag”

Leave a Reply

