Books

Tag Tuesday || Books I’ll (Probably) Never Read

tag tuesday

 

If you know me, you’ll know that I love to complain, so when I saw this tag I thought it was made for me and I just had to do it, didn’t I? It’s only a short, four question long book tag so it’s not too time consuming to do, it’s not too difficult to think of answers to the questions either. Sorry if I offend anyone in advance but these are just my true, honest opinions.

1. A Hyped Book You’re Not Interested in Reading

Um…probably most of them. Mostly books written by people like Sara J Mass, Cassandra Claire,etc., mostly because either their books are problematic (or they are). I feel like that might be a bit of a cop out though because it’s clear if you follow my Twitter that I’d never read these books ever anyway.

2. A Series I Won’t Be Finishing

Generally, when I start a series, I always have difficulty finishing them when they’re longer than three books. I enjoy three book series, six books is my limit and I won’t read more than that usually. But, a series I did enjoy but won’t be finishing is the “Gone” series by Michael Grant. I actually really liked those books, I might read them just out of curiosity to see how it ends considering I already own them all, but I just don’t really like the author first of all. I liked how they made the autistic kid really powerful, and nonverbal, but he’s also an autistic stereotype. My favourite characters weren’t really heading in a direction that I liked. The sexism is dripping from it the more and more I go on (I can’t really say what they are because I’m four books in, so that’s a lot of spoilers). There’s almost no diversity. I did enjoy them, but…yeah, don’t think I’m going to pick them back up.

Also the House of Night series by P.C.Cast because, again, don’t really like the author/s and also it got really fucking boring after the fifth or sixth book, I can’t remember, and I just couldn’t be bothered. I’ll probably revisit the first few books for nostalgia purposes but this series is one I don’t see me finishing anytime soon.

3. A Classic You’re Just Not Interested In?

I don’t really read many classics, despite owning a few, mostly children’s classics like The Secret Garden. The writing style is usually really hard to follow for me personally and there’s just always so many other books I want to read although maybe one day I’ll pick one up again. They always feel like such a chore to get through though. There’s plenty of books being published in today’s society that have a lot of depth and relevance, like The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

4. Any Genres You Never Read?

This one is an easy one for me. I rarely ever reach for romance reads. It’s the genre I go for when I need something light-hearted and warm and cute, but I generally pick something written by Lucy Diamond when I need that fix. Those books I refer to as “light, comfort reads”. YA romance generally almost always has some sort of trope that makes me roll my eyes or makes me mad and…I can’t be dealing with it anymore. I’m also not really a romance type of person, anyway. I also never, ever reach for Western (like, cowboy western) genres or modern medieval  (like Game of Thrones) although I did read the first GoT book and it wasn’t awful. Got through all 800 pages, anyway, but I’m not sure if I’ll continue the series.

 

Thank you for reading! Hope you’re having a nice day and I’ll see you next time

Lorna

Leave a Reply

