Books, Reviews

Hogwarts House Book Recommendations | Ravenclaw

Hello!

So, not too long ago, I did a Hogwarts House Book Recommendations for Hufflepuff (my house!) that you can read here. This was created by Hannah on her channel, A Clockwork Reader, and I don’t think she’s finished all four houses yet but I wanted to jump in on this because it just sounds like something that’s so fun to do (and it is!).

Ravenclaw was always that house that I thought would be really cool to be in but something I didn’t really feel I belonged in. Even if Pottermore told me I wasn’t a Puff, I would have claimed the title anyway, but Ravenclaw is also a house that I hold to my heart.

Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
if you’ve a ready mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind;

Traits: wisdom, intelligence, wit, creativity, originality, individuality, acceptance

ravenclaw

The Invention of Hugo Cabret
by Brian Selznick 

This book is absolutely beautiful and reads like a black and white movie. It is filled with illustrations. You can follow the story with the drawings just as much as you can with the words. It’s Steampunk, set in World War Two (I think?) and follows two very intelligent young children as they try to figure out a puzzle.

51FQLasp5BL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The Maze Runner
By James Dashner 

This book had a lot of problems – like the lack of female characters, plot holes, etc. However, at the time I read this series, I fell in love and adored it. From what I can remember, there’s a group of teenage boys put into this…sectioned off area of land where, next to it, is a deadly maze. None of the boys can remember what happened to them and because they don’t, we as readers don’t either. All of these boys are smart and are named after famous smart people in time, like Albert Einstein. I would have liked this a lot better if it was all teenage girls/non-binaries, though.

maze runner

Matilda
By Roald Dahl

Because…of course.

Matilda1

The Long Earth
By Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter 

I only read this book in May last year but I’ve already forgotten a lot of this world. There’s a lot of planets, what I think are parallel universes, that people can jump back and forth from. There’s robot sidekicks. Ships. A badass woman somewhere along the way. I have been meaning to read this series again but I just haven’t yet because it is so good and I wanted to see where it was going. It’s a very Ravenclaw book.

The_Long_Earth_UK_Book_Cover

The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
by Christopher Edge

This is a very short middle grade book about this little boy who travels through parallel universes in his box with a banana and a laptop (which makes him a pretty creative mini scientist). The boy seems to be isolated and going through grief so goes onto this journey to try and relieve himself of this but it doesn’t quite go that way.

The Many Worlds of Albie Bright-70495-3

The Lie Tree and Cuckoo’s Song
by Frances Hardinge

Although I can see these books being very white feminist, both of these novels have extremely intelligent girls as main characters and doing jobs as female children that adult men are incapable of doing themselves. The books themselves, as well, are very creative. They both are stories that I haven’t read before with plot twists I don’t expect, despite falling more in the middle between middle grade and young adult

The Unfortunate Events series
by Lemony Snicket

I don’t really need to do much explaining as to why these books made the list, although they could also easily fit into Slytherin as well.

HCSU13-series-unfortunate-events-detail1-1200

 

So there’s the list that I came up with for Ravenclaw! I put most of the books I read into a Griffin or Slytherin category so I’ll try to reduce those lists so avoid either one of those posts being way too long. So far, I’m really enjoying writing these and I’m really enjoying seeing what other people come up with too.

Until next time

Lorna

 

 

Contact/Other Useless Info 

Goodreads
Twitter: @CrankyAutistic
Insta: @actuallyautisticautie
Snap: @lozthekittycat

Book Wishlist

4 thoughts on “Hogwarts House Book Recommendations | Ravenclaw”

Leave a Reply

