Books, Reviews

Books I DNF’d

Hey! I feel like my blog is leaning more on the negative side than the positive and I do intend to change that, I want to promote more books that I loved and talk about books I love and talk about books I eagerly anticipate. Not all the reasons why I DNF’d these books are really a negative, some of these I didn’t finish because I just wasn’t reading it at the right time, it happens. I always find interest watching these videos and reading these blog posts so I just wanted to make one of my own.

I’m going to start from the earliest on my DNF Goodreads shelf to my most recent.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher 

I read this back in maybe 2013? My main reason for not finishing this was because I found it really upsetting and it was just hard to get through for me personally. I actually really liked the writing style. I think one day I might come back to this but not anytime soon.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

I’ve tried a few times to get through this and, for some reason, I just can’t. It might be the writing style (you’ll see that pop up a lot). I already know how the book travels as it’s obviously a very popular story and it’s hard to avoid spoilers at this point. I will probably try again some time, but…I can just never get past halfway.

Autumn by David Moody

This is an apocalyptic book and I remember DNF-ing this with a sort of rage because I had gotten over halfway through the book and absolutely nothing had happened. Reviews say this is because the author was building up suspense. I could see it, as the ‘zombies’ in the story were gradually adapting/changing and it did feel quite unsettling but the characters didn’t really have anything that separated one from another so the story wasn’t very character driven which I feel like a lot of apocalypse novels have to be as there’s nothing that new you can really add to a very commonly used genre, i feel.

World War Z by Max Brooks 

Again, another apocalypse novel, I used to really be into that sort of thing. There was nothing really wrong with this book, it’s just too “smart” for me (and by that I mean very political and it focuses a lot on the science behind the virus). I loved the movie but I just could not get into the book. I don’t know if I still own a copy of this but, if I do, I’ll probably try again at some point.

Trust in Me by Sophie McKenzie 

I actually really liked the writing and the characters in this one. I can’t remember exactly what it was about, something like her sister got kidnapped/murdered, but you got to hear from his point of view as well and it was really upsetting so I just set it down. I don’t think I’ll pick this back up again but it wasn’t a bad book, it just wasn’t for me.

Creed by James Herbert 

The main character in this novel was supposed to be unlikable, I think that’s what the author was really going for here, and I really don’t remember if I liked where the story was going or not but I ended up just putting it down for some reason.

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter 

At the time, this was when I was a teenager, and I was really excited to read this. I love Alice in Wonderland. It was really cheap. I read it, though, and I expected more of an apocalypse novel than what it really was which was just an incredibly trope driven story and a girl with an abusive love interest and it just bothered me so much I put the book down and I can’t see myself ever reading it again

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld 

This is a steampunk novel that was really quite interesting and, as most steampunk novels go, it was also historical fiction which isn’t a genre I find myself reaching out for a lot anyway but I do enjoy it when I pick it up however something about the writing style didn’t gel well for me and, again, I couldn’t get past the first fifty pages or so.

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard 

For this one, I just really prefer the TV show and the books were just not as good in comparison. Perhaps I should have read the books before I watched the show but I did not.

House of Leaves by Mark. Z. Danielewksi 

If you’ve ever seen or read this book then you’ll know the formatting is super strange. It’s so hard to read and it’s not something you can read easily. It’s also very, very long. I have quite a large, heavy edition too. I do want to read this someday but not soon.

Rule of Two by Drew Karpyshyn 

I read the first book and I enjoyed it as it focuses more on the villains’ point of view rather than the heroes and I like that but this book was a lot more slow-paced than the first one. I’m also not a massive Star Wars fan to begin with, I just like it, but overall not a bad book (despite women not being written that well).

The Dumb House by John Burnside. 

Aside from the obvious ablest language being used here, this book was really dark and gory and it doesn’t have any chapters. Despite being short and I could probably finish this in one sitting with the right amount of time, I just found myself being unable to get through it. I do intend to read it again, Jen Campbell recommended it in one of her videos, but…it’s a tough read.

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

For some reason, I stopped trying to read this about fifty pages away from finishing it. It was a very slow-paced and mildly triggering read but I don’t think it was bad, I rated it three stars.

 

Thank you for reading, that’s all the books I DNF’d. I tend not to stop reading until I’ve finished, even if I don’t like it, nowadays so I don’t tend to add new books on. That, and I only read about twenty to thirty books a year so that’s not really a lot and most of them tend to be good picks and pretty short so I can get through them for the most part.

Lorna

 

6 thoughts on “Books I DNF’d”

Leave a Reply

