Food, Lifestyle, Reviews

Vegetarian Linda McCartney Food Reviews #3

Hey!

As you may know if you follow me on Twitter or are friends with me on Facebook, I am (mostly) vegetarian and have tried a fair few handfuls of vegan/vegetarian “meats”. Unfortunately, I don’t think many (if not, any) of these are gluten-free but I will be reviewing more gluten-free foods in the future. You can check out my previous two posts on gluten-free foods here (pizza and pasta) and here (microwavable meals).

Today, I will be reviewing two Linda McCartney “meats”.

Linda McCartney 6 Vegetarian Sausages (300g)
£1.95 (frequently on sale for £1)

vegetarian sausages
Suitable for vegetarians and vegans

I currently have two packs left in my freezer from the last time they were on sale and I bulk bought them if you’re wondering just how much I love these. The packaging is really nice, too, and it’s made from cardboard instead of plastic so it’s friendly to the environment! These are mostly made from soya, I believe.

These are a lot like actual meat and because I’m not a massive fan of meat I don’t eat these too often but in at least two meals a week (and, as you’ve already read if you’ve read my previous two posts, they taste delicious in pasta bakes). They’re a lot less greasy and easier on my stomach as this makes them feel lighter. I enjoy these a lot and would highly, highly recommend them.

I think they’ve changed the recipe at some point because I remember trying these as a child (or maybe a teenager) and absolutely hating them, maybe my taste buds have just changed.

Overall, a 5/5, please try them.

Linda McCartney Mozzarella Burgers (227g)
£1.95 (frequently on sale for £1)

burgers

I didn’t enjoy these quite as much, I’ve only tried them once. My mother bought these for me, and I knew I wouldn’t like them because they have onions in them (although very thoughtful of my mother to think of me and get these for me!). They weren’t half bad, though, if I tried to ignore the texture and taste of onion (which was quite hard to do, I won’t lie). The cheese was a really nice addition, I did end up adding extra cheese on top as well. I would probably buy these again, just to refresh my memory and try eating these a different way, but I didn’t finish the packet last time and only ate half of it. The other two were eventually thrown away when the freezer broke (whoops).

Overall, these are probably a 3/5 because again they weren’t bad it was just person taste that made me think differently of them and not like them or enjoy them as much as someone who likes onions probably would.

 

Thank you for taking the time to read these. I find reading these kinds of posts from other people super useful to me so I hope you find these somewhat useful for you. Have you tried any of these, did you like them or did you hate them or are they just “meh”?

Until next time, Lorna

Leave a Reply

