Books, Reviews

Book Tag Tuesday | The Fifty Bookish Questions Tag

tag tuesday

Hello! I feel like it’s been a while since I last did one of these. I’m not sure why, maybe other posts I wanted to post that day became priority, but whatever the reason I’m back with it now.

Today’s book tag is going to be a long one, The Fifty Bookish Questions Tag. As usual, I wasn’t tagged by anyone to do this and if you want to do this then consider yourself tagged.

What Was The Last Book You Read?

I, Robot by Issac Asimov. A review will probably be up shortly, I finished it this morning and really enjoyed it.

Was it a Good One?

Yes, I thought it really spoke volumes about what it means to be human

What Made it Good?

The writing style, the characters, the plot, the themes. It worked together really well.

Would You Recommend it to Other People?

Yes, if they enjoy science-fiction.

How Often Do You Read?

Excluding slumps, I generally read a little bit every single day. It can be anything from twenty pages to a whole book.

Do You Like to Read?

It’s one of my favourite things to do.

What Was the Last Bad Book You Read?

I’m actually doing pretty well this year in picking good books, but I’ve also only read twenty/twenty-one books so far. I’ve read one that I would consider a bad book and it’s a fairly popular middle grade book, so I’m sorry, and it’s Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

What Made You Dislike it?

There was some racism there, I think. I can’t remember exactly, but I believe the main character is from Hong Kong and I am not so I can’t pinpoint exactly what made me be like “uhhh”…there was a lot of “my best friend is white and pretty and I want to look like her” going on, which I found uncomfortable. I also didn’t like the writing style, it really dragged.

Do You Wish to be a Writer?

Yes, although I don’t believe I am a good one. I have tried writing prompts but I never end up finishing them. I want to publish a mini story here or on Wattpad so I can get some constructive feedback and see what people think.

Has Any Book Ever Influenced You Greatly?

I feel like all books have influenced me somewhat. They give me happiness, they can make life easier to deal with, many have given me a new outlook on life or a different perspective. A recent read would probably be The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas which just reinforced the idea that fighting for what I believe in is important and will never stop being important, our voice matters.

Do You Read Fan Fiction?

No. I’ve been looking at Wattpad trying to find some that appeal to me and I have found some interesting stuff I might get into but so far I have not.

Do You Write Fan Fiction?

I think a lot of what I try to write can be considered fan fiction, yeah

What is Your Favourite Book?

This answer changes regularly and remains to be an impossible question. I have a collection of favourites, sure, but I could never pick one or even a series.

What’s Your Least Favourite Story?

Either The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time because of it’s terrible autism rep or It’s Kind of a Funny Story as I found it to be extremely sexist

Do You Prefer Physical Books or Books on a Device (like a Kindle)?

I have a Kindle app that I only use if the physical edition costs way too much and I really want to read it or for e-Arcs. Otherwise, physical editions all the way, I don’t enjoy reading on a Kindle anywhere near as much.

When Did You Learn to Read?

Funny story, I learnt to read before I could talk. I learnt at three, just picture books with words. I could read proper adult books by nine/ten, but I preferred children’s books (being a child and everything).

What is Your Favourite Book You Had to Read for School?

I actually have two books for this. The Butterfly Lion by Michael Murpurgo was something read to us in primary and I hated everything about school but it will always have a place in my heart. Later, when I did my A-Levels (and failed them), I read The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde and loved that one too. I’ve read both of them multiple times.

What is Your Favourite Book Series?

I don’t generally read series. I haven’t finished Harry Potter as books, so I don’t know if I can count that, but I don’t think I’ve finished any book series ever. I’m bad with series.

Who is Your Favourite Author?

The one I will always read no matter what seems to be Frances Hardinge, even though I’ve only read two of her books so far. I just absolutely love the worlds and the characters she creates and the way she tells them. But, again, I don’t really have a favourite author

What is Your Favourite Genre?

I’m really loving science-fiction at the moment. I love some diverse contemporary, fluffy and cute. I like some fantasy, but I don’t reach for that genre very often. Horror, probably, but it’s also not a genre I reach for often.

Who is Your Favourite Character from a Book Series?

Molly from The Upside of Unrequited. 

Has a Book Ever Transported You Somewhere Else?

Unless a book is badly written, most books have that affect on me

Which Book do you Wish Had a Sequel?

Again, The Upside of Unrequited. I’m still upset that it didn’t last longer, but I have every intention to read it again, especially after I’ve read Homosapiens Agenda. I heard there was a Simon reference in there somewhere.

What Book Did You Wish Didn’t have a Sequel?

Most books.It would be cool if they were duologys or a trio, but anymore than that is a bit much.

How Long Does it Take You To Read a Book?

Depends on the length of the book, how good the book is and how I currently feel and my daily activities. My average is about four to five days.

Do You Like When Books Become Movies?

Yes, I like having something visual to team with the book and it encourages more people to read the book but I’m also worried that directors will ruin the movies’ potential.

Which Book Was Ruined by its Movie Adaptation?

I generally don’t watch a TV show or a movie without reading the book first unless I have no intention of ever reading the book so if this has happened to me yet, I can’t remember it

Which Movie Has Done the Book Justice?

Carrie by Stephen King, although Carrie in the books was overweight and in all three movies she was either underweight or an average weight. I am never going to be over that. I also think a lot of children’s movies did good, such as Charlotte’s Web, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Matilda.

Do You Read Newspapers?

Unless linked to an article, no

Do You Read Magazines?

No. I used to all the time as a teenager.

Do You Prefer to Read Newspapers or Magazines?

Neither

Do You Read in Bed?

Not often, as I find it uncomfortable, it’s hard to find a nice position. Last night though I did read a good chunk of my book prefer I went to sleep and I enjoyed it so I might do that again.

Do You Read While on the Toilet?

Having IBS (irritable bowel syndrome), some days I do find myself spending a lot of the time on the bathroom so I have read a Kindle book on my phone while I was in there from time to time. Normally, I just scroll down Twitter

Do You Read in the Bath?

I love reading in the bath but I don’t take baths very often. I’m scared of getting UTI’s even though I think I’ve only ever gotten a UTI from soap in a bath once when I was younger,it put me off for life.The next time I get my hands on a rose jam bath bomb from LUSH, you can bet I’ll be reading in it, pink baths are amazing and lovely.

Are You a Fast Reader?

Nope

Are You a Slow Reader?

I wouldn’t say slow, either. I can read about sixty pages an hour, so a page a minute, but it’s not that fast. I don’t get through it very fast.

What is Your Favourite Place to Read?

In a nice bath in a nice bathroom, on a train, on a beach, on a swinging chair in my garden, in pretty forests. I don’t do any of these very often but I wish I did.

Is it Hard for you to Concentrate When You’re Reading?

Yes and no, it depends on my surrounding environment and how high my anxiety is at the time

Do you Need Silence in Order to Read?

I need mostly silence, yes.

Who Gave You Your Love for Reading?

I don’t think anyone did. I’ve just naturally decided to read, and I love it. My dad was a reader, too, but we were never close

What Book is Next on Your List?

I’m currently reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer, recommended to me by a friend on Goodreads and I finally got round to reading it. Hopefully I get approved for an e-ARC on Netgalley. I have a sampler already waiting. If not, then probably Odd Girl Out by Laura James maybe.

When Did You Start to Read Chapter Books?

As a child and teenager is when I really started to get into proper novel type books. Before that, I just read short children’s books that did have chapters but weren’t very long.

Who is Your Favourite Children’s Book Authors?

Roald Dahl. Jaqueline Wilson. Cathy Cassidy. Michael Murpurgo.

What Author Do You Most Want to Interview?

Rachael Lucas, who wrote The State of Grace. I feel like it has been forgotten in the media already despite it’s recent release but it’s a great book and I’d want to know a lot of things (the author follows me on Twitter!).

What Author Do You Think You’d be Friends With?

Aside from Rachael Lucas, maybe Becky Albertalli because she’s so friendly and we have some things in common. Otherwise, I’m not really sure.

What Book Have You Re-Read the Most?

A lot of children’s books I loved as a kid.

What Books Do You Consider Classics?

Books that have stood strong over the test of time and still speak volumes about their theme despite their age. However, I think many modern books could also be classics such as The Hate U Give, which provides a deep and meaningful insight into how police brutality resulted in the death of many, many black people and inspired the Black Lives Matter movement. It’s an important brick in history that I believe will stand the test of time.

What Books Do You Think Should be Taught in Schools?

Diverse books with diverse characters and diverse authors, instead of the usual white middle aged men and the occasional woman. I don’t believe this is a “trend” but diverse people finally taking their place in society instead of being out-powered by white people (who are cis, straight, etc). It’s give teenagers a sense of belonging, and teens who do not belong in those marginalizations will learn about them. Books like the book above are really good examples of the kind of thing I mean.

What Books Should be Banned from Schools?

Books that are harmful, like The Curious Incident. As someone who is autistic, I was harmed as a result of reading this and the effect it had on those who aren’t autistic and read it. Having it widespread and taught to the brains of young people isn’t something I want to support.

 

Sorry for the long, long post but maybe it’ll make up for not posting a tag Tuesday in a while. As usual, if you want to do this tag then feel free, you don’t have to say you were tagged by me if you don’t want to.

Lorna

You can find me on Snapchat at @lozthekittycat, at Twitter @crankyautistic and if you would like to support me please like, comment and share my posts. If you’d like to buy me a book, then you can here. Thank you for visiting. 

Leave a Reply

