Books, Movies, Reviews

Book to Movie/TV Show Adaptations!

I don’t watch a huge amount of movies or TV shows, so this is why I have kept putting this off for such a long time, but there’s also a fair few that I have seen. I just think this is something fun, not to be taken too seriously, and come to think of it I haven’t read that many books in my lifetime either (especially compared to other people). Anyway, let’s get into it. I’ll try to keep it short!

The BFG

I don’t think anyone should do this list without mentioning The BFG. I love both the animated edition and the live-action movie. The animated edition still makes my skin tingle a little bit (out of fear) but I loved it as a kid and I love it now. I saw The BFG last year when it first came out, and I loved it. If you haven’t seen it, you should, I need to re-watch it sometime. It’s such a childhood favourite. Matilda, as well, but I talk about Matilda so much that I’m not going to talk about it yet again here.

I think that the BFG is such an unusual and magical story that really stay with you for a long time, or at least it did with me, the BFG has a special place in my heart.

A Series of Unfortunate Events 

Another children’s read that I feel is a classic. I loved the first book but I wasn’t so fond of the rest of the series (I’ve read up to book four). I do plan on continuing the series, but just not yet, sometime in the near future. I have to say I like the movie better than the Netflix TV show. The movie was darker, the actors were perfectly fitted for their roles, however I do feel like the TV series was just more diverse and also had a very Dr Seuss type of feel for me.

Room

I loved this book. It’s really dark, though. A woman, who was around…nineteen, I think, when she was abducted is kept in some sort of shed in this man’s backyard. She has a child conceived from rape called Jack, and he’s four (or six? I have a bad memory). The whole story is told from Jack’s perspective, who has spent his whole life inside this shed and knows nothing about the outside world. Not a spoiler, as this is what the book revolves around, one day they find a way to escape and Jack doesn’t like it. He wants to go back to the room, because this for him is home. It’s a very well told and heartbreaking story. I thought the movie wouldn’t live up to my expectations but it did. It was told just like the book was. I recommend it a lot.

The Kite Runner

This is another one of those stories that is very dark and sad. It’s about a boy who starts of as a very nasty little boy, best of friends with a human angel. He deceives this human angel, and goes on to live this life of luxury while his human angel ex-friend faces a different fate. When he grows up, he has to return to his homeland and while he is there he will meet again with the friend of his childhood. The book was incredible, a good writing style, even somehow making me feel for someone who ultimately wasn’t a good person. The movie had a similar style, and they both make me feel like he had his atonement at the end. This was a really good adaptation in my opinion.

The Spiderwick Chronicles

Despite not reading this in my childhood (I read this last year), I loved it. My grandparents bought it for me as a random gift, I picked it out. I hadn’t seen the movie either. Once I had read it, I fell in love and was worried that the movie wouldn’t show the same elements of magic and fairytales. I was wrong. I think they picked (mostly) great actors, the directing was great, I really enjoyed it.

Pretty Little Liars

I did not like the book at all. It was badly written, really badly written, and didn’t have the same charm and entertainment factor that the TV show did. I started watching it not too long ago and fell in love. The mystery of it kept me on the edge of my seat, even though the TV show is filled with problematic things. The TV show has now recently ended, but I haven’t seen the last two or so seasons so please don’t leave spoilers in the comments (and for other people, as well, who haven’t seen the show yet).

My Sister’s Keeper

Both the book and the TV show are heavily problematic, and that I won’t try to defend or ignore, but I fell in love with the movie (which I watched before I read the book) quite a few years ago now. I’m not sure why, I just loved the families’ connection and the love between them all – especially the two sisters. The book isn’t as good as the movie, in my opinion, as the focus is less on Kate and Anna but on the other members of the family and the lawyers and etc. Kate and Anna is what I love about this. It’s obviously quite sad, though, following the story of Kate (with cancer) and Anna (who was produced in a dish so that Kate could have things she needed that were a match, such as bone marrow).

Coraline

Coraline is one of my all-time favourite movies. I don’t think I need to explain what this is about as it’s very popular, but a little girl movies into this very large house that has been split into three apartments. Coraline and her parents movie into the middle one, where children aren’t allowed to be and as it turns out…that was for good reason. Through the little door, she has another set of parents, but things are not as good as they seem. They’re actually pretty dark. I hadn’t read the book first and was sad to see that Wybie was not a character. Otherwise, I love both the movie and the book. The movie was a great adaptation of the book, they did well!

Because this post is so long, I’m going to keep this as a part one and release the second half as a part two sometime soon! What are your favourite book to movie/TV show adaptations?

Until next time,
Lorna

 

Leave a Reply

