Books, Reviews

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

tag tuesday

I found this tag over on A Sunlit Library and thought “I haven’t done a tag in a while, why not today?”. I wasn’t tagged by anyone and, as usual, if you want to do this tag then you are tagged by me. I’ve only read 31 books so far, and 8 of them were comics, but nontheless this looks like a fun tag to do.

The Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017?

I was going to go with The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, which was an absolutely amazing read on the Black Lives Matter movement and police brutality, however I think personally my favourites will have to be The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli and The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas. Collectively, these books have given me representation for being fat, bisexual and autistic so I think that was really worth a lot and meant a lot to me (The Hate U Give is an extremely close runner up).

Your Favourite Sequel of 2017

I tend to read only standalones a majority of the time. The only sequels I have read weren’t really a favourite. 

A New Release You Haven’t Read But Want to

Want by Cindy Pon. I’ve heard this being non-stopped raved about and as soon as I can read it, I will be. I actually like science-fiction a lot, even though it’s a genre that I don’t often reach for, so I’m excited to see how it plays out. I know next to nothing about it, other than it’s science-fiction.

want cindy pon

Most Anticipated Release For The Second Half of the Year

I don’t pay attention to new releases or anything like that, usually. It’s rare I’ll actually ever be able to buy them so I just don’t know a book is going to be released until it already has been, like in the case of Want. However, I have heard that 27 Hours by Tristina Wright is coming out in 2017 and this is also a science fiction novel I have heard a lot about so super excited for that one.

27 hours.jpg
Your Biggest Disappointment

Shockingly, I’ve picked really good reads so far in 2017. Generally, I’ve not been so good at picking them in the past. I read The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold however and although I thought it was good, it wasn’t at all what I thought it was going to be and it leaned more on the “it was okay” rather than the “it was great!” like I expected it to be.

the lovely bones

Biggest Surprise of the Year

The Emerald Circus by Jane Yolen. As it sounds like, I was expecting this to be about a Wizard of Oz retelling in a circus with other fairytale characters. As it goes, that is something that happens in one of the collections of short stories, but there isn’t a mention of a circus again in the rest. It’s a collection of short stories that are all re-tellings of fariytales and fairytale writers. I requested this on Netgalley so I was obviously interested in reading it but I didn’t think it would be as good as it was. It’s probably one of my favourite reads in 2017, a full review has been scheduled for closer to the release date.

the emerald circus

Fave New to You or Debut Author

Becky Albertalli, I think. I can’t wait to read Simon Vs the Homosapiens Agenda and get back into her writing style and characters and sense of humor.

Your New Fictional Crush

I don’t crush on characters, really. Molly from The Upside of Unrequited, perhaps, or Addison, the main character in a comic series I’m reading, Tomboy.

New Favourite Character

Probably Starr from The Hate U Give, as she is such a role model with amazing character development who teaches young girls (especially those like her) to stand up for what you believe in.

A Book that Made You Cry

Books rarely make me cry. The last book to see tears come from my eyes was A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. However, the most upsetting book I’ve read this year was History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera. This is about a boy who loses his ex-boyfriend, Theo, in a drowning accident and the rest of the book is him dealing with the death. It’s super heartbreaking.

history is all you left me

A Book That Made You Happy

A State of Grace by Rachel Lucas. It’s been the first, and only, time I’ve seen good autism representation in a book that only someone autistic themselves could have written. It was an emotional time.

Fave Book to Movie Adaptation You’ve Seen This Year

I’m not a big movie person so, none. I have seen the 2017 version of Beauty and the Beast but I don’t think that counts because I haven’t read the book and, also, it was based off of the Disney retelling of the original story and not the original story itself.

Fave Book Post Published This Year

Honestly? My What I Read in June post because I am so proud of myself that I managed to read eight books in a month, two currently reading and six comics on top of that. This is also my first month teamed up with Netgalley and that’s pretty exciting to me, as well.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought/Received

I received this of a very lovely mutual on Twitter (who, if they want themselves to be named and they are reading this post, I’ll be happy to) who purchased from my Book Wishlist (thank you so much, again!). This is Nimona by Noelle Stevenson, following a badass girl (I think they’re a girl, anyway) with something about dragons. I haven’t read it yet because I’ve wanted to read this for so long that I’m waiting for a good, un-interrupted chance to read the whole thing in one sitting. I think the cover is gorgeous. I also received from my Book Wishlist earlier on in the year As Old As Time by Liz Braswell, which is a twisted retelling of Beauty and the Beast, which again I haven’t read because I’m waiting for a perfect time to read it and it hasn’t come yet. Isn’t the cover gorgeous? Annnnnd a original story Beauty and the Beast book that I bought earlier on in the year. Also stunning.

What Are Some Books You Need to Read Before the End of the Year?

I’m not one for planning ahead my reading schedule, I always go off track and I’m very much a mood reader where I read what I feel like rather than just reading what’s next off my TBR pile. However, these are some books I own that I really feel I should finish before 2018

  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
  • As Old as Time by Liz Braswell
  • Odd Girl Out by Laura James (an autistic #OwnVoices novel)

I also have some Kindle books that I’m keen to get to:

  • The Paths We Choose by M.Hollis (f/f romance)
  • The Governess Affair by Courtney Milan

These are just books that I currently own and am anxious to get started. I really want to finish books I don’t own yet but would like to by the end of the year as well, such as some LGBT+ representation books (especially f/f) and the ones I have mentioned earlier.

 

Thank you very much for reading. Again, if you want to do this tag then consider yourself tagged. There’s little more fun than talking about books.

Until next time,
Lorna

4 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag”

Leave a Reply

