Food, Lifestyle, Reviews

Food Reviews || Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge Gluten Free Brownie Mix

 

358412011_0_640x640

(this served me 12, not 16, but I always see that more as a guideline anyway)

So, personally, I always find homemade gluten-free food better in texture than ready-made gluten-free food. I’ve tried multiple gluten-free foods already made, and I can’t say that they’re awful but they do have a grainy feel to them and they’re often not as full in flavour as homemade gluten-free recipes. These brownies were so good that I couldn’t even tell they didn’t have gluten.

How They Were Made:

I followed the instructions and put the mixture and the egg into a mixing bowl. Instead of using butter, I used oil, which helped it a lot to not stick to the inside of the bowl and I personally don’t like butter so this was a good decision on my part.

I didn’t have a big cake dish, round or square, to put them in like instructed so instead I used a muffin tin and muffin cases (but in Pride colours!) and I don’t feel like it made a big difference.

The cooking times were off for me, though. The oven was pre-heated but it still took about 35 minutes, which I feel was kind of a long time for brownies.

The Result: 

Obviously, I let them cool for a bit, but not completely because there’s little better than biting into a freshly baked brownie. Gooey and yummy! I wasn’t expecting too much from it, my expectations were quite low despite how good they smelt, but I was left feeling pleasantly surprised. They are just like normal, regular brownies. Slightly crunchy on the outside, really gooey on the inside. They even had chocolate chips in them that I didn’t see before. The only thing that was missing, really, was a nice chocolate filling but…I have no idea how to do that.

Tesco, £2.59 | Asda, £2.59 | Sainsburys, £2.50

Overall, I would give these a 5/5. I loved them, I ate the lot within a few short days and my boyfriend (who doesn’t need to take extra caution with his diet due to no chronic illness) really enjoyed them as well, and ate more than one. The best part about them being labelled “gluten-free” was that nobody else I live with wanted one so I had them all to myself (and my boyfriend, who would eat anything). Ha!

Until next time,
Lorna

13 thoughts on “Food Reviews || Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge Gluten Free Brownie Mix”

  1. Ooh these sound fantastic! I’ve never made brownies before but I’ll give these a try. I also wanted to let you know that I have Hypermobilty Syndrome as part of my (self diagnosed because Drs SMah) EDS and Asperger. I’ve just started to realise after chatting online to lots of people for the past 6 months that there’s a link. Every medical professional I’ve asked has claimed they don’t know what I’mon about. Just thought I’d let you know I’m one of you/them/us :0)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh hi welcome! I’ve also noticed the link. A lot of my autistic friends have other things alongside it such as EDS, bowel problems, hyper mobility problems, etc. It’s odd that professionals haven’t picked this up but I suppose that’s because they’re more focused on cures and causes of autism rather than what goes into autism itself which is really kind of sad…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. yeah, i think that’s what he feels too! There’s nothing you can do about it so might as well laugh with it. I’m sorry you are having such a hard time, you seem like a lovely person who doesn’t deserve it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

