Books, Reviews

REVIEW | I Hate Fairyland Comics 1-13

I hate fairyland

Published By: Image Comics, 2015 – 2017
Writer And Illustrator: Skottie Young
Illustrator: Jean-Francois Beaulieu

Synopsis for Comic #1:

The Adventure Time/Alice-in-Wonderland style epic that smashes its cute little face against Tank Girl/Deadpool-esque violent madness has arrived. In an adventure that ain’t for the little kiddies, (unless you have super cool parents, then whatever), you’ll meet Gert – a six year old girl who has been stuck in the magical world of Fairyland for thirty years and will hack and slash her way through anything to find her way back home. Join Gert and her giant-battle-axe on a delightfully blood soaked journey to see who will survive the girl who HATES FAIRYLAND. 

Review:

Like the synopsis says, this is exactly like Alice in Wonderland meets Deadpool. I’m not actually a big fan of Deadpool. I read some of the comics of his a while back, finished a series he was in, and just…didn’t care much about it. I haven’t seen the movie. I do, however, love Alice in Wonderland. This follows Gert as she remains extremely annoyed that she’s still stuck here, trying everything in the book to find her way home. Which, yes, is very Wizard of Oz as well. She is a thirty year old woman who is stuck looking six years old surrounded by pink fluffy unicorns and cotton candy clouds. It is as funny as it sounds (or maybe it doesn’t sound funny to you at all, I don’t know).

I started reading this in summer last year, the first seven comics, and then stopped when I couldn’t find the rest of the comics. It’s only recently that I did manage to find all of them. So, I read 8-13. I planed to only read a few but it’s so addictive and I love it so much that I ended up just racing through them all and being really sad that I had reached the last one that’s recently been released. I don’t know when the next comic comes out but know I’ll be all over that.

The first comic had next to no world building. When I’m new to comics, I like them to have a lot of introduction to what world I am exploring and the kind of characters I’m going to be with throughout the duration of the series (although there is usually more than one character that we get introduced to in each comic, that never stick around for long with Gert’s murdering streak). Although we got a pretty good get-to-know session with the main character, Gert, and her sidekick Larry the drunken fly we had no idea where we were. Luckily, as the comics go on, we know more and more about the world we’re in but even at comic 13 I don’t know much about how the world works. To be honest, I don’t think Gert knows either.

I also found the humor to be been-there-done-that and, although there were rarely any laugh-out-loud moments, I did air-chuckle a few times and felt myself smile as it was just funny to see a thirty year old angry woman in the body of a six year old.

There’s plenty of references to pop culture and other modern medias, and I love little “Easter Eggs” like that. There was a reference to 90’s culture at one point, as well, when Gert finds herself in a game-world battle of those arcade machines I remember from my childhood. There’s so many of these nice little editions throughout the series.

Obviously, because it’s a lot like Deadpool, there’s so much dark humor in this and a lot of gory parts but both of them have been fabricated. The swearing isn’t even swearing, fairyland seems to have magic in it that prevents it so fu*k comes out like “Fluff”, but if you’re in any way sensitive to this then I would avoid it.

I will say, though, that the comics can feel really tedious at times as every comic is more or less the same. Gert tries to get out of fairyland, she’s thrown into a predicament that goes horribly wrong even when it swings her way and she doesn’t get her ticket out of fairyland. Although every comic is a different adventure and every adventure is humorous and funny and mostly action-packed, it is the same plot line over and over again and by comic 13 I did find myself wanting Gert to just escape and see what it would be like for her as a thirty year old in a six year old body finding her way again in the real world and how people would react to find a child that went missing many years ago didn’t age on the outside at all, and how she would ever explain Fairyland. Even funnier if she ended up missing Fairyland, considering that’s where she spent most of her life, and went back there.

 

To summarise: I think this series has a lot of action, is gory and funny in all the right ways. It’s a great satire with plenty of great, awesome references and the art style is wonderful, colorful and very detailed. However, the plot gets very tedious after a while as it is just the same thing over and over again in every comic. Overall, I’d give this whole series a 4.5/5 and I would recommend them till my face turns blue. They’re just so silly.

Until next time,
Lorna

Book Wishlist 

Leave a Reply

