Books, Reviews, Uncategorized

COMIC REVIEW | Lumberjanes, Vol.1: Beware the Kitten Holy (1-4)

lumerjanes beware the kitten

By Noelle Stevenson
And Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters

Pages: 128
Published: 7th April, 2015, by BOOM! Box.

Synopsis: 

FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX! At Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for hard-core lady-types, things are not what they seem. Three-eyed foxes. Secret caves. Anagrams. Luckily, Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five rad, butt-kicking best pals determined to have an awesome summer together… and they’re not gonna let a magical quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way!

Meet the Characters!

Top left: Jo. Top right: April. Bottom left to bottom right: Mal, Molly and Ripley. 

Review: 

I have been recommended Lumberjanes quite a lot over the years and I’ve just never been able to find them. Until recently, that is. I recently read the novel version from Netgalley about unicorns (review coming out in October) and it’s interesting the comparisons I could make between them. The biggest is that the characters and the stories definitely translate better through comics than in novel version, even though I really loved the novel version.

The art is what I’m going to start with because I personally think it’s a make or break with whether or not I’ll even read the comic, nevermind enjoy it. The style is super cartoon-y, colourful and incredibly detailed. I think it was really, really good. I own a copy of Nimona, which I may or may not have read by the time this review comes out, and the art style makes me super excited to read that one as they’re by the same authors. It was quirky and fun and carefree, just like the characters, 5/5.

I loved how different each of the characters are to one another but how much they mean to each other. They look out for each other and care a lot, getting visibly very upset when one of them accidentally hurts the other. It’s such a cute and lovely bond, and it’s nice to see girls so close to each other instead of what we’re used to -competition. They’re also a nice diverse group of girls, as well, and I really like that. I especially like Mel, as she feels very anxiety-driven and I can relate to that a lot, but I also really love Ripley for being the complete opposite of both of us and just being so carefree and not worrying about the danger. I love how Molly acts like a “Mom-friend”, especially towards Mel. Jo is so smart and I love that. April was creative, and funny, I enjoyed her too.

The plot was also silly and adventurous and out-there. I love how it’s set in a camp, I wish I went to a camp but I know I would have got overwhelmed and wouldn’t enjoy it. They get up to some really mischievous things. I like how much they wind Jen up, and how much Rosie seems to discipline them but encourages their behavior at the same time.

Overall, I found it to be a really fun and quick read. It’s a nice break from not just my reading but also my life in general. It’s so happy and reminds me what it was like to be a child (although you’re never too old to have adventures!). I can’t wait to read the rest of the series. An overall 4.5/5.

Until next time,
Lorna

Leave a Reply

