Books, Reviews

Pros and Cons of eBooks

Hey!

This is a book post I’ve wanted to make for a while but, for some reason, keep putting off. I, personally, enjoy most of the book formats available today and although I used to be really judgmental about them in the past on previous blogs, I think fondly of all of them now!

I really wanted to make this post just so people can see what I think the pros and cons of each format is and decide for themselves what reading option they might think is best. I also wanted to lightly discuss them, as well, but not in too much detail.

Because this post ended up being so long, I have split it up into three parts. Today’s is the pros and cons of eBooks.

eBooks

There are so many eBooks on the market and different ways to read them that it would be hard for me to mention every single on here so I’m just going to be talking about the ones that I have tried out – a Kindle, a Kobo and the one I currently use now is the Kindle app on my IPad (2nd Generation, yeah it’s old).

Pros:

  • You can travel with dozens of books in your bag all kept inside something small and light, which saves up space and is much easier on you to carry around for long periods of time
  • eBooks are often a lot cheaper then physical books and new releases will be cheaper than the physical edition
  • If you have limited space in your home, you don’t have to worry too much about space
  • You can loan Kindle books to friends, etc.
  • Easier access to online ARCS as they cheaper than publishers sending physical copies to your doorstep, especially internationally
  • Readers can change the size of the font, the font, style and the colour of the pages easily on Kindle books – especially useful for those with visual dyslexia, partial vision loss, etc
  • It’s easy to highlight and take notes, as well as look up words in the dictionary
  • Can be easier on the environment as most eBooks have a long battery life and use no paper
  • A lot of eBook devices come with a backlight so reading in the dark becomes possible without hurting your eyes or bothering your roommates
  • When you buy a book online, there’s an instant download and no waiting for shipping or popping into a bookshop
  • When reading in public, nobody can tell what you’re reading
  • In many eBook platforms, you can receive books for free – such as Kindle, where some books will go up for a limited time for £0 or for their subscription service, and many classics are also free as well
  • If you need to read standing up, say a train is full and you don’t have a seat but you still want to stay entertained, then eBooks are way easier to hold than going into your bag and holding an actual book
  • It’s easier to keep your place with eBooks – no dropping the book on the floor and losing where you were. You also don’t need to bookmark on eBooks, but you can
  • You can eat and read at the same time without getting the book dirty

Cons:

  • They need to be charged
  • The glare on the screen can sometimes be quite irritating
  • You don’t get the feel and smell of a real book in your hands
  • Buying a device to read Kindle books on can be expensive but worth it in the long run
  • Kindles/Kobos are easily breakable
  • You may have purchased the eBook and have it sitting in your library, but that doesn’t mean you own them – they can be revoked at any point, for example because of a copyright issue
  • If you lose it, you lose all of your books (however, you can reclaim these if you were to get another device which can be costly and time consuming)
  • They can be hard to read in direct sunlight
  • They are not ideal for places where you can read a physical book, such as the pool or the beach
  • You can’t get second hand eBooks, so you might have to pay a lot for a book that’s cheaper in physical form second hand

 

I admit that I used to hate eBooks. I owned both a Kindle and a Kobo but rarely found myself reaching for books stored on these devices. I ignored how it made it easier to travel with, and how I could read more books due to eBooks costing less money. I just personally felt like it didn’t compare with the feeling of holding a book in your hand, turning the pages and smelling their scent. Admiring book covers.

I still feel like that, but I now read often on my Kindle app. I joined Netgalley, where I can receive books that haven’t been published yet in exchange for a review. So far, I have been approved of five books. I found it difficult at first but I’m really starting to warm up to it. It’s also a lot easier to highlight and take notes, as well as I find I read them faster (which I find odd) in order to get to a certain percentage.

However, I think I will always prefer physical copies.

What do you think about eBooks? Do you prefer them to physical books and audiobooks, do you like them the same or are they your favourite way to read?

Until next time,
Lorna

 

2 thoughts on “Pros and Cons of eBooks”

  1. I do roughly 40% of my reading on ebooks – I live far enough away from bookstores for it to be a pain to actually go to one, and I don’t like to wait for things to be shipped. Ebooks are also great for me, because I can read them during slow periods at work! It’s great! I’ve also fallen into audiobooks this year, and I love them a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have yet to try audiobooks properly yet! I’m writing another one of these posts for audiobooks but the opinions will mostly be from other sources! I love audiobooks too. It’s handy and cheaper and I have more options. Lately I do most of my reading on the kindle app, mostly because I don’t have many physical copies I haven’t read and can’t afford to buy them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

