Books, Reviews

What I Read in July ’17 – COMICS

Hello!

If you missed the last post, you can read it here. I decided to split this post into two as, otherwise, it would have made the original post way too long and this way people who are into books can read specifically that section and vice versa. I really enjoyed this months choice of comics, although not all of them were so great.

Tomboy #7 -11
By Mia Goodwin

tomboy 1

I wrote a full review of comics 1-11 of this series here if you’d like to hear what I thought about this in more detail. This follows a girl called Addison who starts to go on a murder spree/”insanity” after the death of her best friend, Nick. What she doesn’t know is there’s a lot more to it then what meets the eye (that’s a pun…you’ll get it if you’ve read it, although I guess the covers make it obvious). The artwork was great. The story was great. I give this collection of comics a 4.5 out of 5, as it was amazing and I’m glad I found it.

Lumberjanes Volume 1: Beware the Kitten Holy (comics 1-4)
By Noelle Stevenson

lumerjanes beware the kitten

Again, if you would like a more in depth review on what my thoughts are for this volume then you can click here. Also, I didn’t notice this until recently, but Noelle Stevenson wrote Lumberjanes AND Nimona? Amazing. I really, really enjoyed this. I’ve been hearing about it everywhere and I am really happy that I finally got a chance to read it. It’s funny, it’s cute, it’s friendship, it’s diverse. I love it. 4/5 stars.

Saga #1
By Brian. K. Vaughan

saga

I won’t be writing a review on this unless I decide to read more on the series but that honestly doesn’t look very likely. I hear everyone raving about this and I actually decided to give it a try a while ago, but barely made it past the first five pages before deciding I’d rather read something else in the spare time that I had. Reading it now, my experience wasn’t much better. I wasn’t really a fan of this at all. I wrote a little bit more about my thoughts of this in my Goodreads mini-review if you want to know more about why I didn’t like it but yeah…not my cup of tea, three out of five stars. (I also forgot to mention how this is like Star Wars crossed with Game of Thrones, and I don’t like either franchise so that probably plays a really big part into this).

I Hate Fairyland (8-13)
By Skottie Young

I hate fairyland

I read I hate Fairyland earlier on in the year and I loved it. I love the art style, I loved the humor. I’m really sorry (kind of) to people who follow me on Snap, I was posting all my favourite moments because I just wasn’t to share it with the world. It’s so fast-paced and such a satire take on Fairyland and those cutesy, funny movies we’re all used to seeing. It was so nice to get back into it again. I only planned to read one or two but ended up reading all the rest of the available comics. Can’t wait for more comics to be released. If you want to read more in-depth thoughts on what I thought, then you can read my review for all comics released so far (1-13) here.

Giant Days #1
John Allison

giant days

I read this on a snap decision, having never heard of it before, and there wasn’t really anything in specific that grabbed my attention. I finished it, decided if I thought over it and wanted to read more of the series later than I would however instead of thinking over it I just completely forgot about it which isn’t a good sign, really. I don’t even remember what it was about.

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #1
Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa

sabrina

I believe this is a spin-off creepy comic series inspired by Sabrina the Teenage Witch, a show I grew up with and adored. Because of my love for that childhood favourite, I really enjoyed this one and I’m probably going to read the rest of the comics when I find the time to. I love witches, I love cats, I love it all.

Kim Reaper #1
Sarah Graley

kim reaper

Again, I had never heard of this before but when I saw it the colours and the artwork instantly caught my eye. I started to read it and fell in love with the characters, there’s a f/f relationship going on, there’s cats, there’s dead things…I absolutely adored it, I gave it 5/5 stars and I’m procrastinating reading it because there isn’t too many out yet and I’ll be sad when I finish them and don’t have more to read. I want more of this, please.

Steven Universe: Volume One

steven universe volume one

I loved this so much! The artwork was so bright and colourful. The humour was so clever and great. I loved the characters, and the storyline. It was just so fun and it was my first taste of Steven Universe. I can’t wait to read/watch more.

 

Hope you enjoyed this! I hope to continue series this month!

Until next time,
Lorna

Book Wishlist
Other Wishlist 

Leave a Reply

