Books

July Book Haul!

Hey!

July seemed to absolutely zoom past, I don’t even know where it’s gone. I’m kind of dreading going back to college, which is really soon now! On the positive side, this month is my birthday month! I’m 21! Yay! I’m super excited.

This month I bought myself two books and then four people were super lovely and bought me a book/books to enjoy! It was so nice of them! Especially lovely because I have no income for the foreseeable future and it’s just so nice people will do this for someone they don’t even know. and a majority were sent to me because I was (and am, throwback to the My Depression post) going through a hard time and it was just so sweet…I’ll stop getting all emotional and just start the post, shall I? Yes.

Books I Bought Myself:

Tom’s Midnight Garden
Phillipa Pearce

tom's midnight garden

When Tom is sent to stay at his aunt and uncle’s house for the summer, he resigns himself to weeks of boredom. But as he lies awake in his bed he listens to the grandfather clock chiming in the hall downstairs. Eleven…twelve…thirteen…Thirteen! Tom races down the stairs and finds, outside the back door, a wonderful garden. A garden everyone told him didn’t exist. Tom’s midnight garden is full of magic and adventure, and children too. Are they ghosts? Or is it Tom who is really the ghost…

I saw this and I was originally going to get something else but something about the cover just really caught my eye and I quickly changed my mind! I can’t wait to read this soon, and apparently there’s a neat little twist at the end that I’m really curious about but I have NetGalley books that are currently taking priority and the curiosity is killing me!

George
Alex Gino

george alex gino

When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she’s not a boy. She knows she’s a girl. George thinks she’ll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte’s Web. George really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can’t even try out for the part…because she’s a boy. With the help of her best friend, Kelly, George comes up with a plan. Not just so she can be Charlotte – but so everyone can know who she is, once and for all. 

I saw this book in a school library years ago and remembered putting it down for something else because I was confused (I didn’t know that trans people existed at this time in my life). It’s a shame because I would have been an accepting person earlier had I have done that. I’m hearing about this book everywhere now, which is strange to me! I still haven’t read this either, but the cover is gorgeous so it’s looking great on my shelves!

Books from Other People:

The Long Earth
Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

the long earth

Normally, when there was nothing to do, he listened to the silence. The Silence was very faint here. Almost drowned out by the sounds of the mundane world. Did people in this polished building understand how noisy it was? The roar of air conditioners and computer fans, the susurration of many voices heard but not decipherable… This was the officer of the transEarth Institute, an arm of the Black Corporation. The faceless office, all plasterboard and chrome, was dominated by a huge logo, a chesspiece knight. This wasn’t Joshua’s world; he had all of them. None of it was his world. In fact, when you got right down to it, he didn’t have a world; he had all of them. 

Now this one, I have read! I actually read it this time last year. It was so, so good! I wanted to own it, and own the rest of the series (that I have not read), because the writing was amazing and the world building was amazing and the plot was amazing. I just really, really enjoyed it (not so much the first half but the second half for sure). Now I own the first, I’m super happy about that!

Release
by Patrick Ness

release patrick ness

Release is one day in the life of Adam Thorn, 17. It’s a big day. Things go wrong. It’s intense, and all the while, weirdness approaches… Adam Thorn is having what will turn out to be the most unsettling, difficult day of his life, with relationships fracturing, a harrowing incident at work, and a showdown between this gay teen and his preacher father that changes everything. It’s a day of confrontation, running, sex, love, heartbreak, and maybe, just maybe, hope. He won’t come out of it unchanged. And all the while, lurking at the edges of the story, something extraordinary and unsettling is on the collision course. 

This book is by far one of the prettiest books I have ever owned. It’s stunning, seriously gorgeous. I’ve read one book by Ness before, A Monster Calls, and absolutely loved it so I can’t wait to get my teeth into another story of his. They’re so emotional, apparently, and I can’t wait to get into them.

Steven Universe: Volume One
by Jeremy Sorese and Coleman Engle

steven universe volume one

I don’t want to put in a synopsis in case it ruins the comic (I may have read it by the time you read this, who knows) but I squealed when I saw this in the mail! I have two graphic novels, but this is the first comic I have owned that feels like a comic if that makes sense. I really can’t wait. The artwork is great, I hear nothing but amazing things about these comics. I’m so excited.

Wilde Like Me
by Louise Pentland

wilde like me

Meet Robin Wilde! You’ll make a friend for life and she’ll take you on a journey you’ll never forget… single mum Robin Wilde adores her six-year-old daughter and loves her job as a make up artist’s assistant. She has a wonderful best friend and an auntie who is bonkers, yes, but loves her to the moon and back. But Robin has a secret. Behind the mask she carefully applies everyday, things just feel grey. And lonely. She struggles to fit in with the school mum crew. Online dating is totally despair-inducing, and she worries everyday about raising her little girl with self-confidence, courage and joy. What Robin longs for is someone (over the age of six) to share with – someone who’s always on her team. After 4 years (2 months, and 15 days!) of single-mum-dom, it’s time for Robin Wilde to Change. Her. Life. Exciting new opportunities are about to come Robin’s way… perhaps a man, perhaps the chance of a lifetime… What will Robin do with the possibilities she creates for herself? And what potential will she unlock if she takes the leap?

I was so, so excited to receive this in the post as well (I was excited about it all!) because I am a big fan of Louise Pentland. I love her video styles, I love hearing her talk, and I feel like this book will be an extension of that. It’ll probably be the first thing that I reach for after I push through all these NetGalley books I need to read (all of their archive dates are pretty soon!). It’ll be a nice breath of light fresh air I feel. It also has a very Bridget Jones type feel to it, and I really love those books.

The Long War
Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

the long war

I’m not going to put a blurb here because it’s the second book in the series! I am so excited about this, I almost cried when I saw it because I have wanted to continue this series for so long (but obviously couldn’t with limited funds) and this isn’t a massive book but it is quite long, so I’ll get a lot of enjoyment out of it and I can’t wait. The first book was more about world building than anything which is nice, but I can’t wait for more action to happen now!

The Sun is Also a Star
Nicola Yoon

the sun is also a star

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story. 

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget all about that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store – for both of us. 

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

I’m sure you’ve probably heard of this if you’ve been in the book community a lot and it’s something I’ve really been wanting to read for a while and it’s going to be one of the first ones I get to when I’m done with my NetGalley books (and I’m doing super well on that front, should be done soon!).

 

Again, if you were one of those people who sent me something thank you so, so much. I don’t know how to show you how much I appreciate it but trust in me that I do! It always makes my week. Hell, whole month this time, it was one hell of a month.

Until next time,
Lorna

Book Wishlist
Other Wishlist

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “July Book Haul!”

Leave a Reply

